top of page

Functional capacity assessments - NDIS

The analysis of a task and an individual's daily activities gives our OTs a comprehensive look into the clients' lives and how we can assist them. 

Assistive Technology
Heather Mulvihill.jpg

What is a functional capacity assessment?

A functional capacity assessment (FCA) is the terminology NDIS uses to describe a holistic report about you and your functional ability to complete day-to-day activities.   OTs are the most qualified allied health practitioner to complete this type of report due to our expertise in assessing and evaluating a person from a ‘whole’ perspective.

Active One receive many referrals to complete FCAs, often from support coordinators or participants who are preparing for an upcoming NDIS plan review.


The assessments for an FCA can take up to 2 hours and are usually conducted in the home environment. 


Information is gained on the participant’s medical history, physical function, accessibility of the home environment, use of any assistive technology (aids and equipment), and the level of support they need to perform their ADLs safely and independently.


The OT will conduct both standardised assessments and non-standardised assessments. 


Non-standardised assessments may involve the OT observing the participant conducting specific activities of daily living (ADLs) such as budgeting, writing a shopping list, transferring on/off seated surfaces at home, or walking around their local community. 

Some examples of standardised assessments used at Active One include (but not limited to):


  • MoCA

  • Barthel Index

The purpose of a FCA is to provide detailed clinical rationale and recommendations regarding the supports (including input from other allied health professionals), accommodation, assistive technology (aids and equipment) and home modifications the participant may need to promote their safety and independence, and to guide future planning.

bottom of page